From Tabletop to Mobile and Back Again

For the past 2-3 months, I haven’t worked on anything physical. I attended and came up with some fun ideas for the Philly Global Game Jam, but none were able to be fully developed. Most of my time has been dedicated to working on Pixel Lincoln for Nintendo DS, but other than that I’ve been learning and working on iPhone apps. I submitted by first to the app store on February 28th and about a week later it was rejected. It was a silly little app, that just happened to be about farting (which is a big no-no with Apple).

 

 

This app idea came up quickly. I was thinking about what I could do with the very light amount of coding I knew, and I said I could do a fortune cookie app. Then I played around with the word a little and it turned into fartune cookie. At that point, the hardest part was done.. I just had to learn to code a few things, take some photos, reword some fortunes, make some sound effects and submit it.

I had a feeling they wouldn’t accept it though, knowing their policy on fart apps. But I hoped this was different enough. I still stand by it. I think it functions really well, has solid graphics, and it’s kind of clever. My dad gets a kick out of it.

But it was rejected, appealed, and rejected again. There’s not much else I can do at this point, but I may make it available Ad-Hoc at some point. I’ve never done that, but I don’t want to just throw it away. Either way, I learned a lot making it and already used that information in making the next ones.

So since then I’ve been sulking… and also working on some other apps. I made an app version of one of my card games and it’s almost done. I took a week or so off from that one to make a quick app, which is also just about done. It’s called Water Tracker and it tracks your daily water intake. I should have it ready very soon and I’ll post some photos.

As for the tabletop games… they’re super expensive, but they can be done without spending money. Kickstarter has proven to be successful, and other methods are proving it too. Ben Garvey just released the print-and-play game Kids Dungeon Adventure (http://kidsdungeonadventure.com/) with his daughter Sasha. There has been a lot of buzz around it, as it’s really a great idea. Seeing that has kind of sparked some non-traditional distribution ideas in me, and it also started the tabletop gaming itch again. It’s been a while since I’ve worked on anything physical, and it would be fun to jump into something new.

Be back soon with some images of Water Tracker, other iPhone stuff, and maybe some tabletop games too?

See you soon.



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.